Banana Choc Muffins

20111126-191312.jpg

My beloved friend May and her son Wilf have come to stay with us this weekend and I took great pleasure in making them these Banana Choc Muffins for brunch this morning. All in all we have had a super calorific day what with the muffins, all-butter scrambled eggs and an incredible Spinach Macaroni Cheese I got from the Riverford website. Deeelicious!

Banana Choc Recipe (slightly adapted from Nigella’s ‘Kitchen’) –

3 Ripe Bananas
125ml Vegetable Oil
100g Light Soft Brown Sugar
2 Large Eggs
225g Plain Flour
1 tsp Bicarb
3 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
50g Plain Chocolate, chopped

Mash the bananas thoroughly, then beat in the oil, followed by the eggs and sugar.

Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl, then beat gently into the wet ingredients. Finally, add the chopped chocolate.

Spoon into muffin cases and bake at 200C/Gas 6 for 15-20 minutes. I did this batch for 20 but they could have been a touch moister – I wish I’d taken them out a little earlier!

7 responses

  1. Banana Choc Recipe (slightly adapted from Nigella’s ‘Kitchen’) –

    3 Ripe Bananas
    125ml Vegetable Oil
    100g Light Soft Brown Sugar
    2 Large Eggs
    225g Plain Flour
    1 tsp Bicarb
    3 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
    50g Plain Chocolate, chopped

    Mash the bananas thoroughly, then beat in the oil, followed by the eggs and sugar.

    Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl, then beat gently into the wet ingredients. Finally, add the chopped chocolate.

    Spoon into muffin cases and bake at 200C/Gas 6 for 15-20 minutes. I did this batch for 20 but they could have been a touch moister – I wish I’d taken them out a little earlier!

    1. Ooooh! I just happen to have 3 very ripe bananas plus all the other ingredients, I’m going to try this today…do you think it will work with milk chocolate as I don’t have any plain?

      1. Yes, I think milk chocolate will work fine. It’s the chocolate that’s my addition, the girls found them a bit boring without the melty choc chunks! Let us know how they turn out…

  2. They are delicious! I had to have one as soon as it came out of the oven…the smell was lovely. Such an easy recipe.Thanks!

      1. The kids loved them too! You were right about taking them out a little earlier (I did 17 mins) they’re lovely and moist. Can we have more muffin recipes please? Do you do a carrot one?

      2. I’m liking your thinking Jackie! Watch this space…

Leave a Reply

